What I learned from Mike Birbiglia

Hossen
1 min readNov 13, 2016

--

Few weeks ago I was listening to a podcast interview that Tim Ferriss done with Milke Birbiglia. Apart from Mike being genuine and often witty, I realized a big mistake that I casually make for my sleeping habbit.

The mistake is simple and the solution is even simpler. I got used to bringing my cellphone into my bedroom and surf the news right before going to bed. This resulted in two problems of nightmarish dreams and checking my emails right after waking up and hanging out in bed trying to figure out what is what.

So the simple solution is not bringing your cellphone and ideally even books to your bedroom. Your bedroom should be merely for sleeping. Buy an old-fashion alarm clock and use those for your waking up. But I realized I automatically wake up after 8 hours without a need for alarm. I think I’m saving an hour day just because of not bringing my cellphone to my bedroom.

--

--

Hossen

AI engineer, passionate about science, space exploration and thin-crust pizza!